What Is ASME Code?

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Code was developed to establish a unified set of standards, guidelines and rules for the pressure vessel industry. The ASME Code is a comprehensive, detailed set of regulations which cover various aspects related to the design, fabrication and inspection of pressurized vessels. The ASME Code also covers areas such as welding procedures and nuclear power plants.

Pressure vessels use a combination of both internal and external pressure to contain fluids or gases. When pressures exceed 15 PSI, these pressure vessels must adhere to the strict ASME standards for safety reasons. This means that any pressure vessel with an internal pressure greater than 15 PSI must be designed and manufactured under established codes from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers to ensure occupant safety. Furthermore, all relevant tests about design criteria must also be carried out during each manufacturing process and accepted by an authorized inspector to obtain certification of complying with ASME code requirements.

Who is ASME?

ASME, or the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, is a professional organization that sets standards and codes for the autoclave industry. Founded in 1880 after numerous steam boiler pressure vessel failures in the United States, ASME has become a major organization that helps ensure safety and security in this industry.

Today, ASME is responsible for setting code standards for the pressure vessel industry, an important element in making sure that vessels and tanks can handle the stresses of working with high levels of energy and heat. As an international leader in this area, ASME has over 140,000 members spread across several countries around the globe. This helps them stay up-to-date on developments related to various industrial applications and trends all around the world.

Furthermore, ASME also focuses on other areas critical for advancing engineering knowledge; their advocacy program works with governments on matters concerning legal standards and legislation regarding engineer regulations as well as offering educational resource centres for students studying mechanical engineering. Most libraries have multiple references about the history of the American Society or related topics like the ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code which guides engineers when designing these essential components within their respective projects.

ASME Code Standard Requirements

The ASME Code is a set of standards and requirements that provide guidelines for the design, fabrication, and inspection of pressure vessels. This code applies to any tank that contains an internal pressure of more than 15 PSI and is adopted by most U.S. states. It provides clear instructions for the material selection, welding processes, and other specifications necessary for constructing safe and reliable pressure tanks. The code also guides verifying safety features such as fatigue analysis, bursting test, impact test, and others. Overall, it is designed to ensure that all pressure vessels are manufactured according to specific industry standards and will perform per their expected purpose.

EN 286 Air Receivers

Simple pressure vessels are designed to hold air or nitrogen with a gauge pressure ranging from over 0.5 bar up to 30 bar and are not meant to be exposed to heat. The manufacturing requirements dictate that the products must be produced in series and made of either welded steel or aluminium construction, with a specified total pressure. 

Vessels are categorized by their stored energy, which is calculated as the product of maximum working pressure in bar and capacity in litres (PS.V). Each category has different provisions. Category A is for vessels with a PS.V above 50 litres and is divided into 3 subcategories. Category B is for vessels with a PS.V of 50 litres or less.

The safety requirements for a Category A vessel include meeting the essential safety requirements outlined in Annex 1 of the Directive, having safety clearance, displaying the CE marking and specified information on the vessel, and being provided with appropriate instructions. The safety regulations for a Category B vessel state that it must be constructed in accordance with recognised engineering practices in an EEA State and display specified inscriptions, excluding the CE marking.

The term ‘safety clearance’ is used in UK Regulations to indicate the satisfactory participation of a Notified Body. Markings must be present on both category A and B equipment, but the specifics vary depending on the category.

The EN286 Directive 87/404/EEC, also known as the Simple Pressure Vessels Directive, is part of a larger effort to establish a unified European market with consistent technical requirements for products. 

Additional Certifications Available

We also offer our receivers certified to a number of worldwide standards for more information visit our Certified Pressure Vessels Article.

We can also offer a complete range of DNV GL, ABS and Lloyds Class Design Codes for Offshore Pressure Vessels.


In conclusion, adhering to ASME code requirements for air receiver tanks is crucial for ensuring safety, reliability, and compliance with industry standards. By following these guidelines, you can rest assured that your equipment is up to par and your operations are running smoothly. Don’t cut corners when it comes to safety—invest in quality and compliance for the long-term success of your business.